Is introducing boxing a good way for a child to manage anger?

Hi everyone. I’ve mentioned before that my son struggles with the transition between his two homes and has a lot of anger and emotion dysregulation when he first comes back after his weekend away. Sometimes this can come out in physical aggression. I bought him a pair of boxing gloves this weekend and introduced him to basic boxing on my own boxing pads that I already owned. He loved it and got quite into it but my question is - am I right in doing this? Does it cause more harm than good in that I’m giving him the chance to hit and punch, or is it ok as I’ve made it clear that it’s for boxing only and we only box against the pads?? I’m doubting my decision here so any advice is very welcome!

1 Like

I’m no expert but I also do this with my twin boys and I think it helps a lot. There definitely has to be a lot of boundary setting around what can and can’t be hit and when but it seems to be a good way to channel any anger that they have…

Definitely keen to understand if this is something we should or shouldn’t be doing though?!

1 Like

Hi singlemumof1. I’m glad that you’ve shared this with us here. People may have opposing views. Some may think that it’s a good stress reliver whereas others may say that it could reinforce the link between being angry and hitting.

I personally think in this instance this is a good thing because you are providing a safe controlled outlet for letting your son release his built-up tension. As LondonParent highlights, it’s important that you set clear boundaries of what can and can’t be hit. - You have done that by stating that he is only allowed to hit the pads, with his boxing gloves.